Located in Campus Martius, just a short walking distance from Palazzo del Quirinale, Palazzo Chigi is nowadays known as the residence of the prime minister of Italy (in fact, it assumed this function in 1961). However, the history of the palaces goes way back in the past. It was built in the second half of the 16th century, on the commission of the Aldobrandini family, who intended to use it as residence. The construction works began under the supervision of Giacomo della Porta (in 1562), but they were completed in 1580 under the supervision of Carlo Maderno. The palace underwent significant architectural alterations after 1659 (when the building became the property of the influential Chigi family), assuming a new look designed by Felice della Greca in collaboration with Giovan Battista Contini.

The palace still bears the name of the Chigis, though, in the course of history, it changed its functionality dramatically. Thus, in 1878 it was used as residence by the Ambassador of Austro-Hungary, just to be turned into the headquarters of the Minister of Colonial Affairs during World War One (in 1916). The highlights of the palace refer to the monumental staircase which, if climbed, leads to the rooms on the superior floors (the palace has five floors) and to the 16th century Giacomo della Porta’s fountain located in the courtyard of the palace. Of course, the heritage left by the Chigi family is also well worth paying attention to. The opulence of the applied, decorative and fine art collections (furniture, paintings, sculptures) still showcased in the rooms of the palace reflects the influence of the family at the time they owned the palace.

The palace is opened to visits, but only certain rooms and sections of it are actually accessible to the public. For guided group tours, reservations are required.

Palazzo Chigi (Chigi Palace)
370, Piazza Colonna, 00186, Rome, Italy
0039 06 67794555
0039 06 67794122
[email protected]
free (reservations required)